Create phase part 2

IMG_0579

The second phase of the create phase was were the ideas and creativity are designed to start being brought out and iterated. It was here even more than before that the HCD methods shines as a collaborative tool rather than a solo methodology. While I was able to take and use many of the steps, with a dedicated team behind you it would be more powerful and lead to better more creative ideas. I chose 4 “how may we” statements to carry forward to the brain storming stage, but in reality I would have preferred around 10 or 12 and the ability to

Step 5: Brainstorm New Solutions

IMG_0574

The key here was quantity over quality according to the HCD toolkit. Using one of the “How may we” statements you built up a huge bank of ideas based around the statement. However I found that the biggest challenge here was keeping the ideas on target, it was very easy to accidently end up creating ideas on HMW statements which weren’t chosen but related to the HMW I was working on. This is where a large team would be very helpful, time limitations also meant I could build on many ideas myself.

Step 6: Make Ideas Real

IMG_0581

The prototype stage was again a little stunted as it is designed for different work so much of the prototype stage involved mapping out many of the interactions would go and not as I originally thought of designing UI’s or layouts. However this did reveal many of the weaknesses and strengths in the ideas which is ultimately the point in the process.

Step 7: Gather Feedback & Phase 3: Deliver

Since this particular project has unfortunately been shelved by the people I was designing for this stage has been omitted from the HCD project. This is also the longer term overview of projects and will be researched and adapted for my final creative project.

Conclusion

I chose 4 “how may we” statements to carry forward to the brain storming stage, but in reality I would have preferred around 10 or 12 and the ability to then reiterate on these again, maybe by circulating teams but the positions of carrying out this work solo meant I was simply unable to do this.
The making ideas real stage or prototyping stage was interesting, as these are all mainly software related ideas they were mainly suited to mapping and planning than actual 3D prototypes. It also started to become apparent that some of the overall ideas and concepts I had created where either variations on older themes or where more “marketing ploys” than changes to the original platform. I will need a way of filtering the results from the brain storming for the final project.
Feedback was unfortunately very stunted. Due to some unforeseen circumstances I was unable to contact the original stake holders in the project so had to pick holes in the work myself which has left them very open to possible biases and oversights. These are also all idealized ideas of what could be and some lack grounding in what could realistically be achieved on the very small proposed budget and man power available.
From here I will go forward to integrate my ideas and map out the IA and UI before wrapping it all in a material design language. This will give me a rough first idea and HCD project which can be presented and displayed. However I will also be drawing up my own documents which make allowances and changes to cope with the different parameters I will be working within for the final project.

Create phase part 2

Leave a Reply

